Loving my Leibster #2

About a month or so ago I got nominated for a Leibster ward by Sarah over at Pursuit of Plenty http://pursuitofplenty.wordpress.com/2013/01/13/its-a-new-day/. I was chuffed to bits, but short on time. Putting together a post accepting your award takes a little time, as does thinking through who to pass the baton to (it is the nature of the Leibster that a recipient must nominate further recipients). Thanks again to Sarah for the nomination, and I thought it fitting that, on the day Sally tells me I am nominated for a MAD in best writer category, I should get my Leibster sorted. Here goes…

 List 5 facts about yourself…

1. My love of The Smiths, belonging to a Brass Band, and my dislike of white stilettos meant I did not fit in at my school. Back then it hurt a bit, now I love my idiosyncrasies.

2. Every year I write another letter to my stepfather. They remain unsent. I wonder if too much water can pass under a given bridge.

3. I get compliments for my knowledge retention and I have always traded on my brain, but really, is a talent that only gets you Trivial Pursuit victories really that fantastic?

4. I don’t think I could ever leave the UK. My fondness for British comedy is too great. It wouldn’t be the same, as funny, as sublime, if I wasn’t living here.

5. On a custom-topping pizza, it has to be anchovies, artichokes, olives and pineapple. Yeah, I know I’m weird.

 

Pursuit of Plenty’s 5 questions for me…

1. If you could pick a theme song for yourself, what would it be? Imagine the opening credits in the movie of YOU, or when you walk out into the ring for the biggest fight of your life… I’m no actress and easily become self-conscious when I dance or talk in public. But, if that self-imposed hindrance could be put to one side, then the answer to this question is easy. I’d re-make the opening to an Austin Powers movie. Soul Bossa Nova by Quincy Jones was the first dance at our wedding. It says everything about the joyous in life. As an extra, I could get my ukulele out.
2. What one quote/saying inspires you consistently? When you’re lying on your death bed, what will you wish you had done? I ask myself this question in relation to myriad issues on a daily basis. It does not mean that my actions always align with its philosophy, but it does focus my thoughts in a way that no other statement does.
3. You’ve been given $10,000 to donate to any one (non-profit) cause. Where do you invest? Simple. I’d find an involuntary childless couple and give them the cash for treatment. Enduring the infertility journey is appalling. I wish it on no-one else. $10,000 won’t end the epidemic, but it might save one couple from living with it forever.
4. If you could own one piece of art from any major museum what would it be? A big bold Henry Moore sculpture from the Yorkshire Sculpture Park. Something to place in the garden and survey from the house. Something to stroke and make up stories about with the kids.
5. What do you consider to be your most brilliant asset? The wisdom acquired from enduring life’s ups and downs, the sum total of which sustains my can-get-it-done, it-will-be-OK, attitude.

 

My questions for the bloggers I have nominated

1. You’re a blogger. That much is self-evident. But why do you blog? And, in the time you’ve been blogging, have your reasons for doing it changed?

2. What story does your family always tell about you?

3. Social media; ‘in’, or ‘out’, and why?

4. Which television or radio show would you like to go to the recording of, and why?

5. Leonardo da Vinci said, ‘Where there is shouting there is no true knowledge.’ What are you truly knowledgeable about, that, perhaps, you just don’t talk about that much?

 

My five nominated blogs are:

http://isabelthomas.wordpress.com/

http://theconfinementchronicles.blogspot.co.uk/

http://www.viewfromthetable.co.uk/

http://balanceandgrace.wordpress.com/

http://firsttimer.blog.co.uk/

Just a little word or two on my choices. I have thought long and hard about these. My main criteria was the quality of writing; no matter what the subject, it had to be writing that made me appreciate the author’s unique voice. Making me laugh, smile, or nod my head in agreement also helped. The only other criteria, which is universally applied to Leibsters as they make their way around the Blogosphere, is that the blogs should have email subscription followers numbering 200 or less. This is pretty hard to establish, so my apologies if any of my choices are over this amount. I, definitely, am not.

To my blog nominees, here’s what you do next;

  1. List five facts about yourself.
  2. Answer the questions I have set for you.
  3. Set five questions for your own nominees.
  4. Choose 5 worthy bloggers to nominate.
  5. Go to each bloggers page and let them know about the award.
  6. Thank the person who nominated you and link back to their blog.

And to my readers, do pop over to these five worthy blogs and have a read. They are more than worth the click through.

 

One thought on “Loving my Leibster #2

Leave a Reply

