(Can’t quite manage a) Silent Sunday

There are times in your life when the universe strips it all back to basics. You are compelled, by forces outside yourself, to have a serious reassess of how you are spending your time on the planet. An unwelcome phone call crashed into my life on Friday afternoon, and has left me confused, undermined, overwhelmed.

Life’s but a walking shadow, a poor player
That struts and frets his hour upon the stage
And then is heard no more: it is a tale
Told by an idiot, full of sound and fury,
Signifying nothing.

That smart chap Shakespeare wrote this. It is easy to let life be filled up with sound and fury. It is hard to make sure that every day doesn’t end up signifying nothing. And lets not forget that there are millions of people around the world who would much prefer the problems of my existence, to the ones they wake up to every day. But, I have taken a bit of hit. I will, in time, blog more fully about the events of that day, and I’m not trying to be melodramatic and mysterious. For now, though, I just wanted to focus on what matters to me.

This afternoon, the sun shone, and the kids and I joined some families from the school my daughter will be attending from September, on a welly walk and Easter Egg hunt. Down by the estuary, after 48 hours of figurative black clouds, life felt warmed-up again.

20130317_145702

20130317_150036 (3)

I’m a very lucky woman. Let’s just leave it at that.

 

 

6 thoughts on “(Can’t quite manage a) Silent Sunday

Leave a Reply

